RSS

WFMW: Pre-Made Pancake Mix

12 Oct

A long time ago, before kids, I would attempt to make pancakes for my husband using a store bought baking mix and they just never, ever tasted very good. The problem was more with the texture of the pancake than anything else. Then a few years ago I found a recipe for Buttermilk Pancakes and lo’ and behold they were good and people in my family actually enjoyed them!

My girls, in particular LOVE pancakes. But sometimes when they want pancakes I just don’t feel like getting everything out and mixing it all up. I mean really, why can’t they just get a bowl of cereal and leave me be!

So in order to combat my laziness what I like to do is make up 5 to 7 containers of Pancake Mix (dry ingredients only) to have on hand. For example, this morning when I made pancakes I measured all the dry ingredients into the bowl and I also measured them 5 times more into my containers.

Doing this only added about 10 minutes to my prep time this morning but will save me time for the next 5 times the kids want pancakes. Just dump the dry ingredients into my bowl, add the wet ingredients and pancakes are just minutes away!

This is what works for me! To see more Work For Me Wednesday ideas visit We are THAT Family.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 12, 2011 in Works for Me Wednesday

 

3 responses to “WFMW: Pre-Made Pancake Mix

  1. Kendra Neal

    October 13, 2011 at 3:51 am

    Ohh I love this idea!! I usually make and freeze pancakes for quick breakfasts, but this is an awesome idea!!

     
  2. Caroline

    October 13, 2011 at 1:01 pm

    LOL I just did this last week and was going to do it for my WFMW too! I put mine in a jar I’m thinking I can probably just mix it in the jar then and pour it out into the pan. I haven’t tried that part yet though.
    And like Kendra, I always freeze any that are left over, but my kids are such pancake lovers that there aren’t many left!

     
  3. organizingmomma

    October 13, 2011 at 3:56 pm

    Thanks, Kendra!

    Caroline, I like the idea of using a jar. I have a lot of canning jars so I might try those next time. Thanks!

     

Leave a Reply

 
